Book Review: Bat Wings, Rings & Apron Strings by Erin Johnson

Bat Wings, Rings & Apron Strings: A Cozy Witch Mystery (Spells & Caramels Book 10)Bat Wings, Rings & Apron Strings: A Cozy Witch Mystery by Erin Johnson
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Erin Johnson is my heroine these days… Ten (10 books) of semi-substantial page content in less than 2 years… all are great, tie together well, and make me yearn for the next release. But now I suffer… because with this 10th one in the Spells & Caramels Cozy Witch Mystery series, we have the final one: Bat Wings, Rings & Apron Strings. Is it okay to cry over the end of a book even though I know the author and she’s already gearing up for another series?

If you’re new to the series, here’s the brief scoop: Imogen is human and doesn’t know she’s a witch. She has an odd baking incident and sets a building on fire, then finds herself magically transported somewhere near France. She learns the truth about her heritage, meets and falls in love with royalty, fights monsters, meets her real family, and solves crimes in the world of witchery!

In this final book, Imogen is finally about to marry her beloved, but disaster strikes. Half the book involves her wedding preparations, the other half is figuring out who poisoned someone she’s close to. No spoilers here! In the end, of course, she saves the day, but the path to it is quite treacherous. I loved getting to revisit characters we missed from earlier books, as Imogen goes to each of them for help. The wedding is such a fun scene, and the ending is touching.

I highly recommend the series. The mysteries are light, the magic is low-level, and the characters are hilarious. When you add it together, it’s a recipe for awesomeness! Thanks for a great series, Erin Johnson. I’ll be with you on to the next one…

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.



  1. Book 10? I just got Book 1….ooooh I have to get to this author before Nina remembers… This year, for sure… I am gonna get a lot of authors 😂😂
    As per the norm great review.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Nice review Jay. It sounds like a great ending to a wonderful series. I have this one to read, probably next week. It is sad that it ended, but this type of series can’t go on forever. I am just glad it ends well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s