Day: May 6, 2019

Book Review: Jam, Jellies & Just Desserts by Carolyn Dean

Posted on Updated on

JAM, JELLIES, and JUST DESSERTS: A Ravenwood Cove Cozy MysteryJAM, JELLIES, and JUST DESSERTS: A Ravenwood Cove Cozy Mystery by Carolyn L. Dean
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I can’t believe I’m almost current on another series. This time it’s the ‘Ravenwood Cove Cozy Mysteries” written by Carolyn Dean. Number 10, Jam, Jellies and Just Desserts, has us taking a big step forward, and worried me that we might be ending soon, but I’ve just learned #11 has been released. The stories take place in Oregon, and they’re meant as light tales (under 100 pages) but full of great characters.

In this caper, a man who left town years ago returns. Citizens are angry at this guy for what he’s done to them in the past. He would buy land and homes out from under people to make a profit, then run them out of town. A perfect setup for murder, right? Guess what happens… he’s murdered! Poor Amanda finds the body again. She was the one person to give him a chance since she’s relatively new to Ravenwood Cove. Except, he tries to put her out of business too, right before he’s killed by a mysterious mineral. Could it be from the house repairs he’s having done on the place he bought to restore to former grandeur? Who has it in for him most of all and took it way too far?

We get to know more about Amanda’s husband’s family in this book. Gable has also come home, and everyone thinks he did something bad. We learn the truth and why he looks guilty. Is he? Perhaps… you’ll have to read to find out. We also get a lovely surprise in the end with Amanda’s future, as well as a bad one when someone decided to leave town. Her best friend? Employee? Pseudo-grandmother? New parent she just found in the last book? What’s gonna happen!!! 3.5 stars for this one.

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are four books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, and Mistaken Identity Crisis. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.