Book Review: Harvest of Secrets by Ellen Crosby

Harvest of Secrets (Wine Country Mysteries, #9)Harvest of Secrets by Ellen Crosby
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Harvest of Secrets is the 9th book in the ‘Wine Country Mysteries’ written by Ellen Crosby. This series focuses on the Montgomery Vineyard in Virginia, not too far from Washington DC, where historical and current mysteries intermix and revolve around politics, family history, and wine. In this caper, Lucie, a ~30ish engaged and disabled vineyard owner, runs into a guy she had a crush on in France many years ago. He’s been exiled by his father to learn how to grow up, but the man can’t stop finding trouble. This time, trouble leads to his death.

Who killed him? His current girlfriend, a past girlfriend, friends who finally had enough, or something more sinister? Meanwhile, Lucie’s farm team accidentally digs up another dead body from many years ago when a hurricane approaches. She quickly realizes she must be related to the victim, who was definitely murdered. How does it all fit together? Between Civil War beliefs and tension, modern day interracial relationships, and turning grapes into wine, this book is full of subplots and wonderful side stories.

Crosby is definitely inching her way into my top ten favorite authors. Although potentially considered a cozy mystery, it’s not the typical type. While there are limited graphical images and profanity, there’s an edge to these tales; they are also not overly fun and lighthearted. The Wine Country Mysteries are full of history, analytics, descriptions, and relationships. Lucie may be an amateur sleuth, but she’s not your typical heroine.

I am fully caught up on the series and looking forward to the tenth one which will be published in the fall of 2019. I hope to get an ARC or be part of the publisher’s launch team, but it’s months away. Until then, I will wait patiently for the next release. I might even take a gander at any of the author’s other books to see if there is something of interest.

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s