Book Review: Six Cats a Slayin’ by Miranda James

Six Cats a Slayin' (Cat in the Stacks, #10)Six Cats a Slayin’ by Miranda James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The ‘Cat in the Stacks’ cozy mystery series is one of my top five favorites. No matter what the tale, I find myself thoroughly excited to read a new one. Today, I’ve reached my goal of getting current by finishing Six Cats a Slayin’ by Miranda James. I am now able to read the newly published eleventh book in the series… hence why I’m a bit sad as I know once it’s finished next week, I’ll have to wait almost an entire year for the next one. Ah… let’s focus on the good stuff for now.

Charlie opens the back door to find five kittens in a box. Who left them? This is only one of the mysteries, as the bigger one involves his new neighbor, Gerry. Not only has she started flirting with him, but she’s trying to buy his house. Everyone says she looks familiar, but no one in the family recognizes her… the family name she’s claiming is hers, I mean. At her Christmas party, Gerry falls down, an obvious victim of poison. Who wanted the lovely lady dead? Perhaps it’s an old-time enemy, a family member she claims to share DNA with, or one of the eccentric neighbors who all said something negative about the woman around the holidays.

Charlie and Kanesha, an Athena deputy, are on the case. We’re also treated to fun and sad moments with Charlie’s family and two new grandchildren. The holidays make the time nostalgic, but Helen Louise keeps Charlie sane. As all the stories weave together, readers are treated to a complex tale of murder and revenge. Between missing money, real estate transactions, and unknown family connections, this book is a solid reason why I adore the series so much. I would love to meet Charlie in real life, as we’d have a lot in common. If you love strong stories with memorable characters and a light humorous touch, these will be on your favorite list each and every year.

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


  1. Sounds like another great entry to this series. I have a read a few of them, out of order of course, and enjoyed them. I keep saying I am going to go back and start at the beginning, but I never seem to find the time. Another wonderful review as always Jay.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s