Book Review: Something Foul at Sweetwater by Sandra Bretting

Something Foul at Sweetwater (Missy DuBois Mystery #2)Something Foul at Sweetwater by Sandra Bretting
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Something Foul at Sweetwater is the 2nd book in the Missy DuBois mystery series written by Sandra Bretting. I usually read a series in order, but I had received a later one as an ARC for a blog tour, and I’ve only just been able to get caught up with this one. Now, I’m current and ready to read the newly released fifth one next week. As with the ones before, this was a fun cozy mystery set in Mississippi where a hat designer solves crimes (accidentally) in grand ole homes.

Missy has a thing for Ambrose, but he’s still nursing some wounds after a former love died. She’s letting him lead things, but something might be heating up with another guy in town, a local cop. She’s close with the cop, as bodies seem to show up around Missy all the time. Poor girl! At least she handles it well. This time, it’s someone she was in a sorority with years ago, and in the house she wants to buy, fix up, and make her new offices. First, she’ll have to weed thru a bunch of suspects: the house’s caretaker, the caretaker’s son who practices VooDoo, the father of a bride Missy helped convict previously, a local restaurant waiter, a strange real estate agent and uncle to one of Missy’s key staff… it gets a wee bit complicated this time.

All in all, it’s a fun series. I like the characters, and the mysteries usually have layers. The setting can be a little over the top, along with the dialogue, but in all honesty, there are people who talk like that. So it’s just a matter of getting used to the details for me… by now, I am, and I’m excited about the next one. The titles are always clever, and this book moves things forward for Missy on a bunch of levels. I am curious about her family, and I hope that’s who shows up soon.

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s