Book Review: Muffin But Trouble by Victoria Hamilton

Muffin But Trouble (A Merry Muffin Mystery Book 6)Muffin But Trouble by Victoria Hamilton
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Muffin But Trouble is the 6th book in the Merry Muffin Mystery series written by Victoria Hamilton. The series takes place in upstate New York and focuses on Merry, a remarried widow in her late thirties or early forties (I believe, as I think the author might be leaving it open so she could have a child in the future) who inherited a castle and bakes muffins for local stores and organizations. And she solves crimes too… this time, it’s a cult that’s moved to town. Is it responsible for all the disappearing young girls? Merry and her young friend, Lizzie, are on the case.

Merry is a strong lead character. She’s smart and nosy, but only in a good way. She tries to figure things out on her own, and the police have learned to trust her more. She often goes down the wrong path yet it helps her find the right one. I like the balance between the two towns, Ridley Ridge (the ‘bad’ side of town) and Autumn Vale (where her castle is located), because we get a variety of people. It reminds me of towns I’ve visited in the Hudson Valley, so it’s on point. Another good aspect in the series are the side stories because we see so much evolution in the characters.

It’s been almost two years since the last book, and Merry has been married for nearly two years at this point (just under). It helped show how much change has happened in the town and in her life. Her best friend Pish has turned the castle into something wonderful, and seeing Merry become a stronger foundation in the town is heartwarming. In this caper, the cult is fascinating. So many of the lines and characters are awful (in a good way) that I got angry at the book… because it sorta sounded a bit like real life in some parts of this country. I was glad to see how Hamilton could push her readers to react, and it’s a result of strong writing and character dialog and development.

I look forward to more from this series… but will have to wait, as the next book bring released from the author is in another series of hers that I read (Vintage Kitchen)… so see ya again soon!

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s