Book Review: The Pawful Truth by Miranda James

The Pawful Truth (Cat in the Stacks #11)The Pawful Truth by Miranda James
The Pawful Truth is the 11th book in the Cat in the Stacks cozy mystery series written by Miranda James. The series takes place in Athena Mississippi and focuses on Charlie Harris, a retired and part-time librarian who spends his free time babysitting his grandchildren, running a boarding house, and solving murders. He’s a likable guy, very smart, and opens his arms to many people. At the same time, he is careful not to get himself hurt or trust everyone he meets. All-in-all, I like him a lot as a protagonist, and his supporting cast (Deputy Kanesha Berry, her mother Azalea-Charlie’s housekeeper, several boarders, Charlie’s family and girlfriend, Diesel the Maine Coon cat, and Melba the bestie) are all fun to read about.

In this caper, Charlie’s auditing a history class. Another mature student asks him to be a study partner, but Charlie senses danger and declines. The next day, she’s dead. Then, the professor is murdered. Who had it out for them? The wife? The best friend? The new boarder? Another professor? The woman he had an affair with? A few others infiltrate this bird’s nest, a la Othello. Will Charlie figure out who was the jealous man or woman, and which person was truly playing Iago behind the scenes?

This was another great story, and I enjoyed the mystery a lot. It was full of suspects, almost a little much at times trying to figure out who was cheating with whom. I liked the tale but wish it had a longer ending to flush out the details on how and why the two victims were killed… but that might just me liking more detail. The subplots with Charlie’s cats and his relationship with Helen Louise and Melba were interesting and kept me entertained. These are the kind of books I will always read, as they are super-well-written and have great characters. I recommend them to light readers and those who like a little sass and pomp to their cozies.

I’m current now… and I’ll have to wait until early 2020 for the next issue. Oh no!

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s