Book Review: Writers’ Heaven, All the Way to Devon, On Gracie’s Vintage Bus by Melanie Mole

Writers' Heaven, All The Way To Devon, On Gracie's Vintage Bus (Buttercup Bay #1)Writers’ Heaven, All The Way To Devon, On Gracie’s Vintage Bus by Melanie Mole
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

What a fun story! First off, this is author Melanie Mole’s initial foray into writing fiction… although, I daresay based upon the two previous books of hers that I read, she was already dancing on the line. Though deemed self-memoir and advice books, there was a sense of creativity and imagination in the earlier works, which made my interest in Writers’ Heaven, All the Way to Devon, on Gracie’s Vintage Bus, the first book in the author’s Buttercup Bay series, intriguing.

Gracie is a young wannabee writer. She’s had some success to date, but she’s feeling lost. Her mother died years ago, and she’s very close with her father. One day, she decides to follow a childhood dream and renovate a bus, so she can drive all around England. She and her father bond over a year, building out her dream. Then, she meets and falls in love with Jack on a beach. As she expands upon her dream, Gracie’s life takes a few twists and turns, ultimately steering her toward Buttercup Bay by the end of the book. And that’s where the series will start…

This is a simple but lovely story. We’re introduced to several wonderful characters, a great story arc for writers, and the potential for amazing beauty and experiences in this home up on the hill. Will Gracie be able to pursue her dreams? Will she help everyone around her? Will her father come visit? So many questions occur along the way, setting us up for what could be quite a fantastic series of books. In this one, all the ups-and-downs help us understand who Gracie is, and we immediately connect with her. She’s smart, friendly, strong, dependable, and generous.

Author Melanie Mole has presented a heartfelt tale that will make us root for the heroine and grow more curious with each chapter. I can’t wait to see where she goes with this one!

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s