Book Review: Fan Mail by Daryl Wood Gerber

Fan Mail An Aspen Adams Novel of SuspenseFan Mail An Aspen Adams Novel of Suspense by Daryl Wood Gerber
My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Fan Mail is the second novel in the Aspen Adams Suspense series by Daryl Wood Gerber. It was published in 2019, and I previously read the first book in the series over the summer. I was introduced to Gerber’s work through a few of her cozy mystery series and wanted to read her latest release from a different genre. It’s becoming a strong series that I highly recommend.

The books takes place in Lake Tahoe and focus on Aspen, a former child psychologist who’s become a private detective. It’s a little over a year since the last book ended, and this time, Aspen has become friendly with the reporter from the previous book. So friendly that Gloria Morning begs Aspen to figure out who might be trying to kill her or protect her. You see… random notes show up about saving Gloria from certain bad people in her life, and then those people end up dead. The issue: those people haven’t hurt Gloria in any way, so she’s confused! Is she doing this to herself?

The mystery plot is strong. I changed my guess a few times in the first 50% of the book and when I finalized the guilty party, I was correct. I only realized it because of an early clue, but it is hidden well and makes perfect sense. There is a lot of backstory to come out before we truly understand the complexity of everyone’s relationships at the tv studio. The first victim, a gynecologist, has a lot in her past to unveil.

Gerber writes really well. The book reads easily and absorbs you from beginning to end. I never wanted to put it down, and it had lots of great scenes above and beyond the mystery. We get to know how Aspen and Nick’s relationship progresses, her niece’s maturity (and immaturity) since Aspen adopted her, and the growth in Aspen’s skills as a detective. I look forward to the next installment. 4.5 stars.

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s