Book Review: Jasper – Rainforest Friends and Family by Sharon C. Williams

Rainforest Friends And Family (Jasper - Amazon Parrot Book 2)Rainforest Friends And Family by Sharon C. Williams
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

After reading the first book in the Jasper Amazon Parrot Book series by Sharon C. Williams, I had to get a copy of the second one, Jasper: Rainforest Friends and Family. They were both published in 2019 by Next Chapter, and they are children’s chapter books. I highly recommend them as great, fun learning tools for schools and homes.

After learning about the pros and cons of the rain forest in the first book, Jasper and his brother are beginning to explore more on their own. Momma lets them go, as all parents must, but she gives enough guidance. Traveling around with their sloth and monkey friends, the boys encounter more danger, meet the monkey’s family, and save another creature from possible danger.

The heart of this series is the friendship between the various species. I also found the parent / child relationships strong and realistic. We learn how monkeys take care of each other by picking fleas from each other’s fur, and we see what an outsider might think about this practice. What a great learning tool for children to understand differences among various ethnicities or communities, and how we shouldn’t judge a book by its cover or certain practices.

The writing is well aligned to a child’s ability to grasp new concepts too. A bit of repetition and evolution throughout the pages will help the concepts become more familiar, and when we see the outcome of bad decisions, we understand how to listen better to our parents. When the families get together to talk about their ‘wayward’ children (I mean that in a lovable manner)… it’s almost like having a childhood best friend and a second home to fondly recall.

If you love animals, book that teach lessons in a strong manner, and an opportunity for something clever, give these a try please!

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s