Book Review: Have a Deadly New Year by Lynn Cahoon

Have a Deadly New Year (A Farm-to-Fork Mystery)Have a Deadly New Year by Lynn Cahoon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Have a Deadly New Year is the 4th book in the Farm-to-Fork Mystery series by Lynn Cahoon. It is more of a long short story or a novella, and it might not be the actual 4th book since it’s intended to be a fun caper around the holidays this year before the next full-length mystery comes out in early 2020. I am psyched given Lynn Cahoon published the title of the upcoming release just this week! But let’s focus on this one first…

The series takes place in Idaho. Angie runs a new restaurant that has taken off in the last year. She’s shut down the place for the week between Christmas and New Years for a few parties and events that will bring in more income. One includes catering an event for her bestie’s former college friends, who are in a rock band. During the event, one of the band members is bludgeoned to death. There are 4 to 5 suspects, and everything moves quickly since it’s a short novella. In the end, the culprit confesses before Angie has a chance to decide whom she thinks is guilty.

When I first read the story, I hadn’t realized it was intended to be an in-between novella… once I realized that, I was much happier with the product. As always, it’s written well and full of great characters, dialog, and humor. I didn’t expect the big reveal to happen as it did, and while it was a good one, I thought it was a little too quick and didn’t pack as much of a punch as it could’ve. Still, the characters are incredibly well developed for less than a thousand Kindle lines (~75 pages). I loved visiting some of the restaurant’s cooking staff, as their relationships are one of the best parts of this series.

It’s served its purpose well… I can’t wait to read the full-length novella coming out in 2020. Thanks for the opportunity to visit the characters again for a mini-mystery.

View all my reviews

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s