Book Review: A Stone’s Throw by Debbie DeLouise (w/ free offer for next book in series)

Today I highlight a great series called the Cobble Cove Mysteries. In this post, I am sharing my review of the 1st book in the series, which is perfect for the upcoming holiday season. In A Stone’s Throw, there is a wonderful Thanksgiving scene that will make you feel all the right things as you consume tons of turkey and enjoy the fall weather. I am also sharing a discount from the author for the 2nd book in the series. I also hope to be sharing a spotlight on this author in 2020 (hint hint), so stay tuned!

A Stone’s Throw (#1) – Book Review

A Stone's Throw (Cobble Cove Mystery, #1)A Stone’s Throw by Debbie De Louise
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

A Stone’s Throw is the second book I’ve read by Debbie DeLouise, but it’s the first in her Cobble Cove Mystery series. After reading her suspense/thriller book, I was curious how she’d handle a lighter mystery… and while it was definitely lighter, it packed a solid punch. Once I realized the books take place in Long Island (where I’m from) and upstate New York (where I visit frequently), it became a must read.

Alicia’s husband was hit by a car earlier in the year in Long Island where they lived. She knew nothing about his family and decided to locate his relatives in upstate New York. All she was aware of was that they’d been estranged. Upon arriving in Cobble Cove, she’s initially concerned about the rudeness she encounters. Slowly, they warm to her, even offering her a job as a librarian rather quickly.

As the story progresses, her home in Long Island burns to the ground, and a weird woman haunts the library. It’s not a ghost, but a previous worker who left quite an impression. When a friendly neighbor makes his intentions known, Alicia decides to give love a second chance. Then things take a crazy turn! Alicia meets her husband’s estranged family and learns of uncanny connections she has to them already. Who was playing whom, she asks herself? When everything turns to murder, Alicia is forced to do a little investigating… since it appears she might be the next victim.

This story has a slow build, but it’s charming and well told, so readers easily enjoy getting to know Alicia. She’s kind and generous, but she’s nervous and hesitant to embrace her new life. Is someone lying to her? I love the way the author creates characters who seem pure only to find out there are hidden agendas and backgrounds. Nothing is crystal clear, and it’s not obvious whom to trust all the time. If you like gently unraveling a ball of yarn, you’ll enjoy this mystery. Each new fact builds upon the last one until you suddenly find yourself tightly woven into a very complex plot.

I’m excited to read the next book in this series. It’s a solid setting and the characters have lots of potential. Kudos to the author for her storytelling and pacing in this one.

View all my reviews

If that’s not enough to convince you to read the book, then check out this teaser…

Between a Rock and a Hard Place (#2) – Free Offer

On November 29th (US Black Friday), the author is offering the second book in this series for FREE. I’ll be getting my copy and reading the book in early December. Join me for a buddy read? To download this book, visit Amazon. Read below to learn all about this second release. Or check out this awesome trailer:


If you had the chance to read A Stone’s Throw, you came to know widowed librarian, Alicia, and followed her through the mystery that brought her to Cobble Cove and her meeting with John, the town’s newspaper publisher. In Between a Rock and a Hard Place, that takes place near the holidays in Cobble Cove, Alicia is faced with several new mysteries and one that is particularly close to home. This story can be read as a standalone or part of the 4-book series. Purchase @


Librarian Alicia McKinney has put the past behind her…

Two years ago, Alicia discovered both a terrible truth and lasting love with John McKinney in the small town of Cobble Cove, New York. Now a busy mother of twin babies and co-author of a mystery series, Alicia couldn’t be happier.

Alicia’s contentment and safety are challenged…

Walking home alone from the library, Alicia senses someone following her, and on more than one occasion, she believes she is being watched. Does she have a stalker? When the local gift shop is burglarized, the troubling event causes unrest among Alicia and the residents of the quiet town.

John and Alicia receive an offer they can’t refuse…

When John’s sister offers to babysit while she and John take a much-needed vacation in New York City, Alicia is reluctant to leave her children because of the disturbances in Cobble Cove. John assures her the town is safe in the hands of Sheriff-elect Ramsay. Although Alicia’s experience with and dislike of the former Long Island detective don’t alleviate her concern, she and John take their trip.

Alicia faces her worst nightmare…

The McKinneys’ vacation is cut short when they learn their babies have been kidnapped and John’s sister shot. Alicia and John’s situation puts them between a rock and a hard place when the main suspect is found dead before the ransom is paid. In order to save their children, the McKinneys race against the clock to solve a mystery more puzzling than those found in their own books. Can they do it before time runs out?

About the Author:


Debbie De Louise is an award-winning author and a reference librarian at a public library on Long Island. She is a member of Sisters-in-Crime, International Thriller Writers, Long Island Authors Group, and the Cat Writer’s Association. She’s the author of seven novels including the four books of her Cobble Cove cozy mystery series. She lives on Long Island with her husband, daughter, and three cats.

Social Media Links:




Amazon Author Page:


Website/Blog/Newsletter Sign-Up:

Instagram: debbie_writer




About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations but with a twist. There are five books: Academic CurveballBroken Heart Attack, Flower Power Trip, Mistaken Identity Crisis, and Haunted House Ghost. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s