Grimm

GIVEAWAY PROMOTION: Little Darlings by Melanie Golding (SWAG!)

Posted on Updated on

Today’s post has an exciting promotion from Crooked Lane Books beginning on April 1 for Little Darlings—a pre-order giveaway of a swag box including 1 copy of The Complete Grimm’s Fairytales, 1 leather-bound notebook valued at $100.00, and 1 wood-burnt bookmark with an engraving from “The Stolen Child” folktale reminiscent in Little Darlings. 

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY CONTEST HERE

***

If you haven’t heard of the book or read my review from last month, I’ve re-created the post below to get you up to speed. It was a great opportunity, and who wouldn’t love this Grimm swag!

Format: Hardcover Publication

Date: Crooked Lane Books on April 30th, 2019

Genre: Mystery, Thriller

Buy the Book on Amazon

9781683319979_fc

Overview

“Mother knows best” takes on a sinister new meaning in this unsettling thriller perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Grimms’ Fairy Tales.

Everyone says Lauren Tranter is exhausted, that she needs rest. And they’re right; with newborn twins, Morgan and Riley, she’s never been more tired in her life. But she knows what she saw: that night, in her hospital room, a woman tried to take her babies and replace them with her own…creatures. Yet when the police arrived, they saw no one. Everyone, from her doctor to her husband, thinks she’s imagining things.

A month passes. And one bright summer morning, the babies disappear from Lauren’s side in a park. But when they’re found, something is different about them. The infants look like Morgan and Riley―to everyone else. But to Lauren, something is off. As everyone around her celebrates their return, Lauren begins to scream, These are not my babies.

Determined to bring her true infant sons home, Lauren will risk the unthinkable. But if she’s wrong about what she saw…she’ll be making the biggest mistake of her life.

Compulsive, creepy, and inspired by some our darkest fairy tales, Little Darlings will have you checking―and rechecking―your own little ones. Just to be sure. Just to be safe.

***

My Review

Little Darlings

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Little Darlings by Melanie Golding is a story about pain, hope, psychosis, fairy tales, motherhood, lies, and drama. It is the type of book where you do not get all the answers and must interpret for yourself what actually happened in the final pages. For some, this will be a great opportunity to decide what is fantasy and what is real. For others, it’s a foray into an unknown world of uncertainty. Whether you lean in either direction, one thing’s for sure, it’s good writing.

Lauren Tranter just gave birth to twin boys. Her husband, Patrick, is committed and loving, but there’s something slightly off about him. There are no grandparents or siblings involved (okay, a minor scene with Patrick’s sibling later on, but it doesn’t impact the plot). Lauren doesn’t work outside the home. They seem to have little to no friends except a soon-to-be mother’s group who drops off peculiar gifts. When this happens, who do you turn to?

For Lauren, she’s happy in her cocoon until the birth is way more difficult than she expected. The doctors almost lose her to excessive blood loss at one point, but she bounces back and begins to care for the little tykes perfectly. Except during the first overnight in the hospital, a weird witch-like woman threatens to swap the babies because hers are bad and Lauren’s are good. Maybe they each keep one good and one bad, she suggests?

How would you handle the situation? Lock yourself in a bathroom to avoid anyone trying to steal them? Good plan, except on video tape, there’s no one attacking you. Was it real? Was it supernatural fantasy thing? The fairy tales tell a very different story… one about a woman who demands you drown your children in order to save them. Lauren is trapped. If she does nothing, the woman comes nightly to haunt her. If she does something, the cops and/or hospital threaten to commit her. What a paradox! To love, you must hurt. How would you handle the situation?

Golding tells a wicked story with heart. Readers will be uncertain where to lend their loyalties as a few twists and turns convince you Lauren is crazy, but then easily show you she’s not seeing things. For me, it drove me nuts! I like clarity, but I appreciate the variables at play here enough to indicate this book is a challenging read in a good a way. As a side story, one of the cops struggles to believe Lauren. Through research, she finds something that might confirm who kidnaps the kids, but in the end, all is not what it seems.

A psychological thriller, readers have a chance to determine how to interpret a story that can be told in many ways. Golding’s talent sits in the ability to walk a fine line of confusion and power. We will all feel differently, yet it’s the same words and story. Which part will you connect to? Definitely worth a read, you’ll find hidden gems in the life lessons and fairy tale history we learn along the path. I recommend it for those looking for something a little different than the normal family drama.

Many thanks to the author and Crooked Lane for the chance to read this book. I voluntarily participated on the blog tour and am excited to spread the word about this novel.

View all my reviews

***

About the Author

Melanie Golding is a graduate of the MA in creative writing program at Bath Spa University, with distinction. She has been employed in many occupations including farm hand, factory worker, childminder and music teacher. Throughout all this, because and in spite of it, there was always the writing. In recent years she has won and been shortlisted in several local and national short story competitions. Little Darlings is her first novel, and has been optioned for screen by Free Range Films, the team behind the adaptation of My Cousin Rachel.

golding author photo credit michele calverley

***

Who Else is on the Blog Tour?

The tour has ten (10) days of stops and you can see the blog names listed below. Stop by to check out everyone’s opinions or to enter the giveaway contest and win a free copy…

little darlings blog tour

I hope you enjoyed stopping by my blog to be part of this fun tour. Many thanks to Sarah @ Crooked Lane Books for including me in this opportunity. I’ve come to love Crooked Lane as a publisher and read many of their books. It’s been a blast… can’t wait until my next tour with them in early 2019. Tell me what you thought of the blog tour, the review, and whether you’re gonna read this book! Only time will tell, I suppose… right?

About Me
For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I’m Jay, an author who lives in NYC. My stand-alone novels, Watching Glass Shatter and Father Figure, can be purchased on Amazon as electronic copies or physical copies. My new book series, Braxton Campus Mysteries, will fit those who love cozy mysteries and crime investigations. There are two books: Academic Curveball and Broken Heart Attack. I read, write, and blog A LOT on this site where you can also find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by. Note: All written content is my original creation and copyrighted to me, but the graphics and images were linked from other sites and belong to them. Many thanks to their original creators. Follow my blog with Bloglovin.

Advertisements

Review: The Complete Fairy Tales

Posted on Updated on

The Complete Fairy Tales
The Complete Fairy Tales by Hans Christian Andersen

My rating: 4 of 5 stars



Book Review


4 out of 5 stars to The Complete Fairy Tales, written in 1835 by Hans Christian Andersen. Many people are familiar with the fairy tales written by the Grimm brothers, but sometimes don’t realize there were several different versions or collections by different authors. Another popular one is the series written by Hans Christian Anderson. The two I was the most familiar with were “The Ugly Duckling” and “The Emperor’s New Clothes.” In both, you see some of the “horror” that you see from other classic fairy tales, but these are more about reality and real-life situations that could occur. Also, they don’t always end up a positive note. A few movies have been made from them, and countless cartoons and TV shows. I enjoyed some of them, but not all of them. I do think they are worth a read, as they provide some insight into the goings-on of a working mind nearly 200 years ago. It’s true-to-form stories that have a basis in moral lessons versus coming-of-age sentiments. Both are valuable, but they are a bit different. Not quite for young children, probably better for pre-teens or teenagers.



About Me


For those new to me or my reviews… here’s the scoop: I read A LOT. I write A LOT. And now I blog A LOT. First the book review goes on Goodreads, and then I send it on over to my WordPress blog at https://thisismytruthnow.com, where you’ll also find TV & Film reviews, the revealing and introspective 365 Daily Challenge and lots of blogging about places I’ve visited all over the world. And you can find all my social media profiles to get the details on the who/what/when/where and my pictures. Leave a comment and let me know what you think. Vote in the poll and ratings. Thanks for stopping by.

View all my reviews

Review: The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales

Posted on Updated on

The Complete Grimm's Fairy Tales
The Complete Grimm’s Fairy Tales by Jacob Grimm

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I adored fairy tales as a child… wait, I’ve always adored them, even now when I’m… not a child… so many different interpretations — truly the foundation for many of today’s TV shows, movies, children’s books… a must read!

View all my reviews